Boston attractions

Boston Downtown Ansicht vom Meer
Boston Downtown

Sights are in Boston next to the Elite universities Harvard and the WITH, the famous IT campus, yet to call a feature, that is not an everyday. A red line leads the pedestrian along the sidewalks of the city of Boston on a length of about 4 Kilometers to symbols of the American Revolution, the so-called Freedom Trail.

The freedom trail

Freedom Trail sehenswert in Bosten Reisefuehrer Amerik
The freedom trail

The freedom trail begins at Boston common, the oldest public park in the United States, and leading up to Charlestown. Many interesting witnesses can be visited in the course of the trail, How about the Old State House. Here John Adams proclaimed in 1776 the Declaration of independence of the United States of America.
It is easy to follow the trail and visit the USS Constitution, which later referred to is, also worth, as a relaxing boat trip with the ferry, from where you have a great Auslick on the skyline of Boston, and can shoot great photos of this modern metropolis and capital of Massachusetts.

Boston common Park

Der Freedom Trail in Boston
Boston common Park

The Boston common Park is the oldest park in full United States. The with 20 Hectare large park was already in the year 1634 inaugurated, at that time it was used as grazing land by the residents, Today it is a public park, for events, Used festivals and demonstrations. The big lake in the Park, the frog pond, freezes over in the winter and can then be used as a skating rink. In the summer it is very popular as a fresh donor at Boston children. The Boston common is the southern end of the freedom trail. The starting point is located near the Park Street station. The Park Street station – first u-Bahn station in the United States – It is located in the eastern corner of the Park.

Boston Navy Yard

Boston Navy Yard @Amerika Reisefuehrer Americaurlaub.de
Boston Navy Yard
USS Constitution in Boston
USS Constitution in Boston Harbor

The former Charlestown Navy Yard, they now Boston Navy Yard is called, is a disused shipyard, that has been transformed into a part of the Park. Today you will find the beautiful frigate USS Constitution, the oldest ship in service in the world.

Especially the three in the war of 1812 erzielten Siege der USS Constitution against the British warships, the ship became a major point of attraction and a national tourist attraction.

Faneuil Hall

Faneuil Hall Boston - wichtige Station in der Stadt
Faneuil Hall

The Faneuil Hall is one of the oldest buildings of the city of Boston. It is part of the larger marketplace, Quincy market. Today is the elongated brick- and granite building is used as a shopping centre. It is located next to the on 100 Shops and trendy night spots a large food market in the complex.

Also still the old North and South Church can be found, the Old State House, the Paul Revere House of the eponymous freedom fighter and the Dorchester heights monument on the freedom trail.

National Historical Park

Boston-National-Historical-Park
Statue at the Boston National Historical Park

In the National Historical Park are sights, that fermented the historical importance of the city of Boston during the American Revolution.

The Park hosted by the U.S. National Park Service offers for example the Bunker Hill Monument, a 67,3 Meter high granite Obelisk with 294 Levels, the between 1827 and 1843 was built in honour of the battle of Bunker Hill. He is higher than the Obelisk to a few meters, He stands on the Plaza de Mayo in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Prudential Tower

Prudential Tower Sehenswertes in Boston @Americaurlaub.de
Prudential Tower in night lighting

The Prudential Tower ist ein Wolkenkratzer mit 229 Metern und nach dem John Hancock Tower das zweithöchste Gebäude in Boston. He was of 1960 until 1964 built and has 52 Floors. Its observation deck on the 50th floor is the highest accessible in New England, there since the terrorist attacks of the 11. September 2001 the elevated platform on the John Hancock Tower is closed.

Während er zum Zeitpunkt seiner Fertigstellung noch das höchste Gebäude der Welt außerhalb von New York war, today not even more is he one of the fifty tallest buildings in the United States. In addition to the 360 The complex with a 58,000-sqm shopping mall shines degree views at the top of the building, This brings not only women to the excitement.

Samuel Adams brewery

Samual-Adams-biersammlung
Samuel Adams beers (c) samualadams.com

In the Samuel Adams brewery There is a free tour with a very nice guide, talking about the funny and in detail about the beer BREW, as if he himself were Brauer. Trying the precious drop of the brand of Samual Adams may not be missing at the end of a tour of the brewery. Sometimes this part of the visit takes the most time, It is necessary to try different beers, and that takes time now, so rather nix for with children to the watch, you get bored there rather. Although, You can annoy the Guide Yes, at the same time.

Museum of fine arts

Boston Museum of fine arts - Sehenswertes Boston @Amerika Reisefuehrer
Boston Museum of fine arts

In the Museum of fine arts found next to works by American artists such as Winslow Homer and John Singer Sargent works by well-known European painters like Renoir, Degas and others. Furthermore there is a field with Mexican, Japanese and Egyptian exhibits. Contemporary art, Musical instruments and textile fashion objects complete the program of the Museum. The first museum building was built in the style of Gothic Revival architecture at Boston Copley Square.

That 1876 inaugurated building had to be extended after three years for the fast-growing collections of the Museum. In the year 1899 decided the Museum Director, to build a new Museum building on Huntington Avenue, as at the previous location no further expansion options were available. Since then it has been extended again. The current program is posted on the Web site, mfa.org.

Bunker Hill Monument

Bunker HillsSpitze im Boston Reisefuehrer @Americaurlaub.de
historic postcard of the Bunker Hill Monument

That Bunker Hill Monument is a 64,3 m hoher Granit-Obelisk mit 294 Levels, the between 1827 and 1843 was built in honour of the battle of Bunker Hill in Charlestown. He belongs to the Boston National Historical Park, a Memorial by the type of National Historical Park and is managed by the National Park Service. Already 1794 was by the Masonic lodge King Solomon one 5,5 m hohe hölzerne Säule mit einer vergoldeten Urne zu Ehren des während der Schlacht gefallenen Freimaurers Dr. Built by Joseph Warren.

Interestingly the Bunker Hill Monument stands not on the eponymous Bunker Hill, but on the nearby breed's Hill, where most fighting took place. The first railway line in the United States, the granite railway, built solely for the purpose, Granite for the construction of the Obelisk to create up, to accelerate the construction of this.

New England Aquarium

New-England-Aquarium
Entrance of the New England Aquarium

Do not want you to sea out, but still see sea animals, can you do that in Boston New England Aquarium visit. In the 1969 founded and continuously renovated Aquarium sea lions can be found, Seahorse, Sharks, Penguins and many other sea animals.
In addition to the main Aquarium the Simons IMAX Theatre and the New England Aquarium Whale Watch interesting attractions include, they are active from April to November. The Aquarium has now more than 22.000 Members and welcomes more than 1,3 Millions of visitors per year.
There are always special shows and events, the Penguin was in Aquarium 2010 under the motto “Penguin power” presents. The visitors learned, How to survive and are how to protect penguins in the wild.

Fenway Park

Baseball im Resiefuehrer Amerikas @Americaurlaub.de
Major League Baseball in the Fenway Stadium

The Fenway Park is the home stadium of the U.S. Major League baseball-teams Boston Red Sox District Fenway. Eröffnet wurde der Fenway Park am 20. April 1912, Thus the oldest baseball stadium, It is currently still used. The attendance record with 47.627 Visitors was most 22. September 1935, in the game against the New York Yankees, set up. The stadium is listed in the national register of historic places. A unique feature of the stadium is the wall behind the left Outfield, called The Green Monster ("The Green Monster"). The 11,3 Meter hohe und 73,2 Meter lange Mauer war bereits 1912 Part of the stadium and was to 1934 made of wood. A manual scoreboard was installed on it, which is used until today. 1947 were painted over the advertising boards on the wall with green color, what earned her the nickname of today's. After the wall is also the mascot of the Red Sox, “Wally, the Green Monster”, named.

Boat trip in Boston

Bootsausflug ab Boston Harbour
By boat from the port out to the whales Watchen and deep sea fishing

With one of the excursion boats can you right early in the best drive out of Boston Harbor in the morning on the open sea and there experience dolphins and whales in partnership with the New England Aquarium. With the Boston harbour cruises is a traditional family company, the complete packages, about to deep sea fishing, offers.

Boston Downtown Ansicht vom Meer

Boston Downtown

An Sehenswürdigkeiten sind in Boston neben den Eliteuniversitäten Harvard und dem MIT, dem berühmten IT-Campus, noch eine Besonderheit zu nennen, die nicht alltäglich ist. Ein roter Strich führt den Fußgänger entlang der Bürgersteige der Stadt Boston auf einer Länge von etwa 4 Kilometern zu Symbolen der amerikanischen Unabhängigkeitsbewegung, dem sogenannten Freedom Trail.

Der Freedom Trail

Freedom Trail sehenswert in Bosten Reisefuehrer Amerik

Der Freedom Trail

Der Freedom Trail beginnt am Boston Common, dem ältesten öffentlichen Park der USA, und führt bis nach Charlestown. Im Laufe des Trails können viele interessante Zeitzeugen besichtigt werden, wie etwa das Old State House. Hier verkündete John Adams im Jahr 1776 die Unabhängigkeitserklärung der Vereinigten Staaten von America.
Dem Trail zu folgen ist einfach und ein Besuch der USS Constitution, auf das weiter unten eingegangen wird, lohnt sich ebenso, wie eine erholsame Bootsfahrt mit der Fähre, von wo aus man einen tollen Auslick auf die Skyline Bostons hat, und tolle Fotos dieser modernen Millionenstadt und Hauptstadt von Massachusetts schießen kann.

Boston Common Park

Der Freedom Trail in Boston

Boston Common Park

Der Boston Common Park ist wohl der älteste Park in ganz USA. Der mit 20 Hektar große Park wurde bereits im Jahr 1634 eingeweiht, damals wurde er als Weideland von den Einwohnern benutzt, heute ist es ein öffentlicher Park, der für Veranstaltungen, Festivals und Demos genutzt wird. Der große See im Park, der Frog Pond,  friert im Winter zu und kann dann als Eislauffläche genutzt werden. Im Sommer ist er als Frischespender bei den Bostoner Kindern sehr beliebt. Der Boston Common ist das südliche Ende des Freedom Trail. Der Startpunkt befindet sich in der Nähe der Park Street Station. Die Park Street Station – erste U-Bahn Station in den USA – befindet sich in der östlichen Ecke des Parks.

Boston Navy Yard

Boston Navy Yard @Amerika Reisefuehrer Americaurlaub.de

Boston Navy Yard

USS Constitution in Boston

USS Constitution im Bostoner Hafen

Die ehemalige Charlestown Navy Yard, die nun Boston Navy Yard heißt, ist eine stillgelegte Werft, die zu einem Teil des Parks umgewandelt wurde. Dort findet man heute die wunderschöne Fregatte USS Constitution, das älteste im Dienst stehende Schiff der Welt.

Vor allem die drei im Krieg von 1812  erzielten Siege der USS Constitution gegen die britischen Kriegsschiffe machten das Schiff zu einem wichtigen Anziehungspunkt und einer nationalen Sehenswürdigkeit.

Faneuil Hall

Faneuil Hall Boston - wichtige Station in der Stadt

Faneuil Hall

Die Faneuil Hall ist eines der ältesten Gebäude der Stadt Boston. Sie ist Teil des größeren Marktplatzes Quincy Market. Heute wird der langgezogene Backstein- und Granitbau als Einkaufszentrum genutzt. Es befindet sich neben den über 100 Shops und Modeläden auch ein großer Lebensmittelmarkt in dem Komplex.

Zudem findet sich noch die Old North and South Church, das Old State House, das Paul Revere Haus des gleichnamigen Freiheitskämpfers und das Dorchester Heights Monument auf dem Freedom Trail.

National Historical Park

Boston-National-Historical-Park

Statue im Boston National Historical Park

Im National Historical Park befinden sich Sehenswürdigkeiten, welche die historische Bedeutung der Stadt Boston während der amerikanischen Revolution fermentiert.

Der vom US-amerikanischen nationalen Parkservice betreute Park bietet zum Beispiel das Bunker Hill Monument, ein 67,3 Meter hoher Granit-Obelisk mit 294 Stufen, der zwischen 1827 und 1843 zu Ehren der Schlacht von Bunker Hill errichtet wurde. Er ist damit um ein paar Meter höher als der Obelisk, der in Buenos Aires in Argentinien auf der Plaza de Mayo steht.

Prudential Tower

Prudential Tower Sehenswertes in Boston @Americaurlaub.de

Prudential Tower in Abendbeleuchtung

Der Prudential Tower ist ein Wolkenkratzer mit 229 Metern und nach dem John Hancock Tower das zweithöchste Gebäude in Boston. Er wurde von 1960 bis 1964 errichtet und hat 52 Stockwerke. Seine Aussichtsplattform im fünfzigsten Stock ist die höchste zugängliche in Neuengland, da seit den Terroranschlägen vom 11. September 2001 die höher gelegene Plattform auf dem John Hancock Tower geschlossen ist.

Während er zum Zeitpunkt seiner Fertigstellung noch das höchste Gebäude der Welt außerhalb von New York war, gehört er heute nicht einmal mehr zu den fünfzig höchsten Gebäuden der Vereinigten Staaten. Neben der 360 Grad Aussicht an der Spitze des Gebäudes glänzt der Komplex mit einer 58.000qm großen Shopping-Mall, das nicht nur Frauen zur Erregung bringt.

Samual Adams Brewery

Samual-Adams-biersammlung

Samual-Adams-Biere (c) samualadams.com

In der  Samual Adams Brauerei gibt es eine kostenlose Besichtigungstour mit einem sehr netten Führer, der lustig und ausführlich übers Bier brauen redet, als wenn er selbst Brauer wäre. Am Schluss einer Brauereibesichtigung darf natürlich das Probieren des edlen Tropfens der Marke Samual Adams nicht fehlen. Manchmal nimmt dieser Teil des Besuches die meiste Zeit in Anspruch, es gilt ja verschiedene Biere auszuprobieren, und das braucht nun auch seine Zeit, also eher nix für mit Kinder zum Anschaun, die langweilen sich da wohl eher. Obwohl, die können ja auch währenddessen den Führer nerven.

Museum of fine arts

Bostoner Museum of fine arts - Sehenswertes Boston @Amerika Reisefuehrer

Bostoner Museum of fine arts

Im Museum of fine arts finden sich neben Werken amerikanischer Künstler wie Winslow Homer und John Singer Sargent auch Werke von bekannten europäischen Malern wie Renoir, Degas und anderen. Desweiteren gibt es einen Bereich mit mexikanischen, japanischen und ägyptischen Ausstellungsstücken. Zeitgenoessische Kunst, Musikinstrumente und textile Modeobjekte runden das Programm des Museums ab. Das erste Museumsgebäude entstand im Stil der Neugotik am Bostoner Copley Square.

Das 1876 eingeweihte Gebäude musste bereits nach drei Jahren für die schnell anwachsenden Sammlungen des Museums erweitert werden. Im Jahr 1899 entschied die Museumsleitung, einen neuen Museumsbau an der Huntington Avenue zu errichten, da am bisherigen Standort keine weiteren Ausbaumöglichkeiten vorhanden waren. Seitdem wurde das immer wieder erweitert. Das aktuelle Programm ist auf der Webseite mfa.org nachzulesen.

Bunker Hill Monument

Bunker HillsSpitze im Boston Reisefuehrer @Americaurlaub.de

historische Postkarte des Bunker Hill Monuments

Das Bunker Hill Monument ist ein 64,3 m hoher Granit-Obelisk mit 294 Stufen, der zwischen 1827 und 1843 in Charlestown zu Ehren der Schlacht von Bunker Hill errichtet wurde. Er gehört zum Boston National Historical Park, einer Gedenkstätte vom Typ eines National Historical Parks und wird vom National Park Service verwaltet. Bereits 1794 war durch die Freimaurerloge König Salomo eine 5,5 m hohe hölzerne Säule mit einer vergoldeten Urne zu Ehren des während der Schlacht gefallenen Freimaurers Dr. Joseph Warren errichtet worden.

Interessanterweise steht das Bunker Hill Monument nicht auf dem namensgebenden Bunker Hill, sondern auf dem nahegelegenen Breed’s Hill, wo die meisten Kampfhandlungen stattfanden. Die erste Eisenbahnstrecke der USA, die Granite Railway, wurde allein zu dem Zwecke gebaut, Granit für den Bau des Obelisken heranzuschaffen, um damit den Bau zu beschleunigen.

New England Aquarium

New-England-Aquarium

Eingang des New England Aquarium

Will man nicht auf Meer raus, aber trotzdem Meerestiere sehen, kann man in Boston das New England Aquarium besuchen. Im 1969 gegründeten und laufend renovierten Aquarium finden sich Seelöwen, Seepferdchen, Haie, Pinguine und viele weitere Meerestiere.
Neben dem Haupt Aquarium gehören die Simons IMAX -Theater und das New England Aquarium Whale Watch zu den interessanten Attraktionen, die von April bis November aktiv sind. Das Aquarium hat mittlerweile mehr als 22.000 Mitglieder und begrüßt mehr als 1,3 Millionen Besucher pro Jahr.
Es gibt immer wieder Sondershows und Veranstaltungen, das Pinguin Aquarium wurde im Jahr 2010 unter dem Motto “Pinguine Power” präsentiert. Die Besucher erfuhren, wie Pinguine in der Wildnis überleben und wie sie zu schützen sind.

Fenway Park

Baseball im Resiefuehrer Amerikas @Americaurlaub.de

Major League Baseball im Fenway Stadion

Der Fenway Park ist das Heimstadion des US-amerikanischen Major League-Baseball-Teams Boston Red Sox im Stadtviertel Fenway. Eröffnet wurde der Fenway Park am 20. April 1912, somit das älteste Baseballstadion, das aktuell noch benutzt wird. Der Zuschauerrekord mit 47.627 Besuchern wurde am 22. September 1935, beim Spiel gegen die New York Yankees, aufgestellt. Das Stadion ist im National Register of Historic Places gelistet. Eine Besonderheit des Stadions ist die Mauer hinter dem linken Outfield, genannt The Green Monster („Das grüne Monster“). Die 11,3 Meter hohe und 73,2 Meter lange Mauer war bereits 1912 Teil des Stadions und bestand bis 1934 aus Holz. Auf ihr wurde eine manuelle Anzeigetafel angebracht, die bis heute benutzt wird. 1947 wurden die Werbetafeln an der Mauer mit grüner Farbe überstrichen, was ihr den heutigen Spitznamen einbrachte. Nach dieser Mauer ist auch das Maskottchen der Red Sox, “Wally, the Green Monster”, benannt.

Bootsausflug in Boston

Bootsausflug ab Boston Harbour

Mit dem Boot aus dem Hafen raus zum Wale-Watchen und Hochseeangeln

Mit einem der Ausflugsboote kann man auch vom Bostoner Hafen aus am besten gleich ganz früh am Morgen auf das offene Meer rausfahren und dort Delphine und Wale in Partnerschaft mit dem New England Aquarium erleben. Mit den Boston Harbour Cruises findet sich ein traditionsreiches Familienunternehmen, das auch komplette Pakete, etwa zum Hochseefischen, anbietet.